5/19/10 at Turner Field

The day got off to a great start, and it had nothing to do with baseball: I saw my very first girlfriend for the first time in 14 years, and it wasn’t awkward at all. We met in the lobby of my hotel, went out for a three-hour lunch, and pretty much just caught up and laughed about the past. I was in such a good mood after seeing her that nothing else mattered. Batting practice at Turner Field? Whatever. Baseball was the last thing on my mind — that is, until I walked over to the stadium and met up with my friend Matt Winters:

1_zack_and_matt_05_19_10.JPG

(In case you’re new to this blog, I’m the guy on the left.)

That helped get me back into snagging mode. My goal for the day was to get at least six baseballs. That’s what I needed to reach 4,500, and thanks to the dreamlike configuration of the left field stands…

2_heaven_on_earth.JPG

…I knew it wouldn’t be hard. It was more a question of how than if.

My first two balls of the day were home runs hit by right-handed batters on the Braves. I’m not sure who. All I can tell you is that the first one landed near me in the seats, and I caught the second one on the fly.

That’s when I encountered my first challenge of the day. Another batter hit a homer that happened to land in the gap behind the outfield wall. I figured I’d be able to snag it with my glove trick, but before I could get there, some old guy snagged it with his own funky-looking device. Here he is holding it up:

3_old_dude_with_a_device.JPG

It’s a gigantic roll of duct tape — with additional tape inside the center hole to make the ball stick. On the other side (where the guy is holding it), there was a big/clunky object attached to it, presumably to help weigh the whole thing down.

As it turned out, this guy was one of a dozen fans who’d brought devices into the stadium. There were devices everywhere. It was nuts. Some people even dangled them over the wall in anticipation.

Somehow, I managed to beat the competition and use my glove trick to snag my third ball of the day. I handed that one to the nearest kid, and two minutes later, I sprung into glove-trick action once again.

That’s when I encountered (or rather created) another challenge. In my haste to get down to the front row, I rolled my left ankle on the edge of a step, and let me tell you, it hurt like HELL. I felt a sharp twinge on the outside of my foot, and for a moment, I thought I wasn’t gonna be able to walk for the next two weeks. It was one of those “what did I just do to myself” injuries; I knew it was bad, but I wasn’t sure just how bad, so I decided that as long as I could still stand, I might as well proceed down to the front row and try to snag the ball — and yes, I did end up getting it.

My ankle really hurt after that…

4_zack_after_spraining_ankle.JPG

…but the pain was bearable as long as I ran in straight lines and changed direction slowly.

My fifth ball of the day was another home run (not sure who hit it), and the catch itself was anything but routine. I was cutting through the second row to my right. The ball was heading toward a teenaged kid in the front row. It was going to be an easy chest-high catch for him, so I didn’t expect to have a chance. That said, I still stuck my glove out for a potential catch in case he missed it, and at the last second, I jerked my head to the side so that I wouldn’t get drilled in the face by a potential deflection. Well, wouldn’t you know it? The kid somehow managed to miss the ball. I mean, he completely whiffed — didn’t even get any leather on it — and I ended up making a no-look, thigh-high catch while running through the seats on a sprained ankle.

That was the 4,499th ball of my life. The next one was going to be a fairly significant milestone, so I wanted it to be special.

Another home run was hit toward the same kid. I was standing right behind him at the time, and while the ball was in mid-air, I could have easily climbed down into the front row and reached in front of him — but I didn’t want to interfere with his chance at redemption, so I hung back in the second row. This is how it played out:

5_zack_not_catching_homer.JPG

The ball smacked the pocket of his glove and jerked his wrist back, but he hung onto it, and everyone cheered and congratulated him.

Toward the end of the Braves’ portion of BP, a ball cleared the wall and landed in front of the visitors’ bullpen down the left field line. It sat there for a minute, so I ran over to the seats in foul territory, thinking that I might be able to snag it with my glove trick. Once I got there, I realized that the ball was trapped underneath a bench. There was no way for me to reach it, and even if it had been sitting right below me, there wouldn’t have been time. A security guard was about to retrieve it. Here he is with the ball in his hand:

6_security_guard_with_ball4500.JPG

There were several other fans asking for it, so he decided to give it away in the fairest way possible: he asked when everyone’s birthday was. As soon as I said “September fourteenth,” he tossed me the ball.

“When’s your birthday?” I asked.

“September twelfth,” he replied.

“Cool, thanks so much,” I said, and then I asked, “Can I take a picture of the ball with you in the background?”

Either he didn’t hear me or he simply ignored me because he promptly exited the bullpen and began walking toward the infield. Meanwhile, I wanted to fully document my 4,500th ball, so I “chased” after him:


(It wasn’t exactly a high-speed chase.)

In the photo above, he had stopped walking for a moment to shout something to another guard in the bullpen, and then moments later, he continued marching ahead. I pulled out my camera, and this was the only photo I got:

8_ball4500_and_the_guard.JPG

Meh. A little blurry. But at least it captured the “excitement” of the moment. (It’s fun to put “random” words in quotes. I should “do” this more often.)

Here’s a better photo of the ball itself:

9_ball4500.jpg

Now that my milestone was out of the way, my goal was to snag four more balls and reach double digits.

When the Braves cleared the field, I headed over toward their dugout on the first base side, and I wasn’t allowed past this point:

10_first_base_side_05_19_10.JPG

If you look closely at the photo above, you can kinda see that the arrow is pointing to an extra chair in the front row — a little folding chair with slats on the back. That’s how stadium security marks its arbitrary cut-off line; if you don’t have a ticket for the seats beyond that point, you can’t go there, even during batting practice. Matt and I had tickets in the 3rd row behind the 3rd base dugout, and yet we weren’t allowed anywhere near the 1st base dugout. It’s such a bad policy — so thoroughly asinine and misguided and anti-fan — but what could I do? I had to stay there and SHOUT REALLY LOUD to get Terry Pendleton’s attention. He was standing all the way over near the home-plate end of the dugout. I didn’t think he’d even look up, but to my surprise, he finally turned and threw a ball all the way to me. (Take THAT, stadium security!!)

I headed over to the left field foul line when the Reds started throwing…

11_reds_playing_catch_05_19_10.JPG

…and didn’t get a single ball there. What’s up with that? I was decked out in Reds gear and still got ignored by all the players. Good thing there were a few batters hitting bombs to left-center field — and get this, they were left-handed. Although I’m not sure who was in the cage, I’m pretty certain it was Joey Votto and Jay Bruce. (Maybe Laynce Nix, too?) My eighth and ninth balls of the day were homers that landed in the seats. Here I am scrambling for one of them:

12_zack_about_to_snag_ball4502.jpg

This was my view straight ahead:

13_view_from_left_field_05_19_10.JPG

See that kid in the front row with the arrow pointing to him? He was standing there because I told him to. Two minutes earlier, he had asked me a for a ball, and I said, “Don’t ask ME. Ask the players. Stand in the front row, and when a ball rolls near you, ask them politely for it.”

This was the view to my right:

14_view_to_my_right_05_19_10.JPG

See the man with the arrow pointing to him? He overheard my exchange with the kid and asked me, “How many balls do you have?”

He seemed friendly — I’m usually pretty good at determining when someone is asking me just for the purpose of starting an argument — so I told him.

“Nine?!” he asked. “Do you think that’s fair?!”

“Well,” I said calmly, “considering that I give away a lot of balls to kids and also do this to raise money for charity, yeah, actually I do think it’s fair.”

The guy was speechless. He just nodded and walked back over to his spot…however…when I caught my 10th ball of the day less than a minute later — another homer by one of the Reds’ lefties — he was not too happy about it.

arthur_rhodes_2010.jpg

The kid in the front row turned around and started begging me all over again for a ball. I pointed at the field and told him, “You should be focusing on the players, not on me.” And guess what happened soon after? Arthur Rhodes tossed a ball to the kid, who was so excited that he ran back and showed me.

“Now see?” I asked. “Wasn’t that better than getting a ball from me?”

“YES!!!” he shouted with a huge smile on his face.

I looked over at the man who’d been giving me a hard time, and I shrugged. He was still stewing. And then, five minutes later, I used my glove trick to snag a ball from the gap and gave that one away to another kid. I don’t even think the man saw that, and I don’t care.

That was my 11th ball of the day, and batting practice was almost done, so I ran (gingerly) to the 3rd base dugout. None of the players or coaches gave me a ball, but some random equipment-manager-type-guy was dumping all the balls from the bucket into a zippered bag. I got his attention and convinced him to toss one to me, and man, it was a beauty. Here are two different photos of it:

15_ball4506_all_kinds_of_weird.JPG

Not only was there a big/diagonal/striped/green mark on it, and not only was the word “practice” stamped in a bizarre spot, but the logo was stamped too low. See how the word “commissioner” overlaps the stitch holes? I once snagged a ball with the logo stamped too high, and I also once snagged one with the logo stamped crookedly, but these are just a few examples out of thousands of balls, so you can see how rare it is.

I wandered for a bit after BP…

16_turner_field_visitors_bullpen.JPG

…and made it back to the dugout just in time for the national anthem:

17_more_heaven_on_earth.jpg

Is that an amazing sight or what? I’ve never seen groundskeepers keep the hose on their shoulders during the playing of the song.

Reds third base coach Mark Berry tossed me a ball after the second inning, and in the bottom of the third, I headed up the steps to meet a 13-year-old kid from Atlanta named Evan. He’d been reading this blog for years, but we’d never met in person, and now finally, for the first time, we were at the same game together. I was planning to head over to the tunnels behind the plate and play for foul balls, but because he and his dad met me in the cross-aisle behind the dugout, I lingered there for a couple minutes to chat. Well, as luck would have it, while were were all standing around, Brian McCann fouled off a pitch from Aaron Harang and sent the ball flying 20 feet to my left. I took off after it (what sprained ankle?) and watched helplessly as it landed in a staircase just behind me. Thankfully, there was no one there, and the ball didn’t take a crazy bounce. Instead, it trickled down into the aisle, where I was able to grab it. Ha-HAAAA!!! The whole thing never would’ve happened if not for Evan, so he gets the unofficial assist. Here we are together:


Evan has snagged approximately 300 balls. (He doesn’t have an exact count, but he owns 295 and has given a few away.) That’s an impressive number at any age, let alone 13. When I turned 13, I had a lifetime total of four baseballs. He and I hung out after that, first behind the plate, then with Matt behind the dugout, but there were no more balls to be snagged.

The game itself was very entertaining. Braves starter Kenshin Kawakami, who began the night with an 0-6 record and a 5.79 ERA, pitched six scoreless innings and left with a 4-0 lead. Unfortunately for him, his countryman, Takashi Saito, gave up three runs in the top of the eighth, and then Billy Wagner surrendered a solo shot in the ninth to pinch hitter Chris Heisey. With the score tied, 4-4, in the the bottom of the ninth, Martin Prado hit a two-out single, and Jason Heyward plated him with a line-drive double into the right-field corner.

jason_heyward_2010.jpg

Game over. Final score: Braves 5, Reds 4.

Heyward finished 3-for-5 with two doubles, a triple, and two runs scored. This guy is the real deal. He has unbelievably quick bat speed and a beautiful swing. He’s 6-foot-5 and 240 pounds, and he’s 20 years old! He has blazing speed, too, and he seems pretty solid in the field. I won’t pronounce him a future Hall of Famer just yet, but I’d be shocked if he doesn’t end up having a very good/long major league career. Wagner, by the way, two months shy of his 39th birthday, was consistently hitting 98mph on the gun. (I’ve never felt so athletically inadequate, but damn, these guys were fun to watch.)

After the game, I said goodbye to Evan (who got the lineup cards), then met a guy named Glenn Dunlap (who runs a company called Big League Tours), and caught up with another friend named Matt (who you might remember from 5/17/10 at Turner Field).

On my way out of the stadium, I took a photo of the empty seats…

19_empty_seats_after_game_05_19_10.JPG

…and walked past the Braves Museum and Hall of Fame…

20_braves_museum_and_hall_of_fame.JPG

…which was now closed.

Oh well.

I’m not a museum person anyway. (I’m more of a doer than a looker.)

Five minutes later, this is what I was doing just outside Turner Field:

21_zack_photographing_balls_05_19_10.JPG

No, I wasn’t bowing down to my baseballs as part of a religious ritual; I had my camera in my hands, and I was trying to angle it just right in order to take one last photo. Keep reading past the stats to see how it turned out…

SNAGGING STATS:

• 14 balls at this game (12 pictured below because I gave two away)

• 150 balls in 14 games this season = 10.7 balls per game.

• 643 consecutive games with at least one ball

• 194 consecutive games outside of New York with at least one ball

• 138 lifetime game balls (125 foul balls, 12 home runs, and one ground-rule double; this does NOT include game-used balls that get tossed into the crowd)

• 126 lifetime games with at least 10 balls

• 60 lifetime games outside of New York with at least 10 balls

• 4,508 total balls

CHARITY STATS:

• 34 donors (click here and scroll down to see the complete list)

• $5.20 pledged per ball (if you add up all 34 pledges)

• $72.80 raised at this game

• $780.00 raised this season for Pitch In For Baseball

Bye, Turner Field. Thanks for being so awesome. I’m gonna miss you…

22_the_12_i_kept_05_19_10.JPG

22 comments

  1. xholdourownx@gmail.com

    Zack-
    I have really enjoyed the last few posts. I just moved away from Atlanta in January and really miss the stadium and the Braves. Nice to see pictures of it. I have gotten a lot of balls in those left field seats. I have also had run ins with that same guy in left field. He is not the greatest at being nice is all I will say. Figures you would visit Atlanta as soon as I leave.

    Good luck the rest of the season. It seems to be going great so far.

    Jonathan

    PS-Atlanta has tons of people with strange devices. Some use cups with duct tape rolls around them. I have even seen what looked like a ball of tape with the sticky side out being lowered in that gap.

  2. gmeyer0208@gmail.com

    Ah, that last photo reminded me of the picture you took with your 32nd ball outside Kauffman Stadium last year!
    So I’m really angry right now because the Royals announced that they would be opening the gates ONLY 90 minutes before the game every game for the duration of the season! What kind of crap is that?
    Last year, between memorial day & labor day, they had the outfield open 2.5 hours before on weekdays and 3 hours on weekends. My snagging total just went WAYYYYYYYYYYYYY down. So it looks like Kauffman isn’t so great for snagging baseballs after all…

    -Garrett

  3. Canadian Ballhawk

    What is that green substance on that one ball. I have one with the same green substance on it. And also, there is no shame in having 4 baseballs at age 13. I am 13 (not for much longer) and guess how many baseballs I have. That’s right, 4. Finally, congrats on your 4,500th ball.
    -Tyler W.
    http://mlbstadiumfan.mlblogs.com/

  4. m_kemp_27

    Congratz on 4,500. Z, you are really a great photographer, i really like that last picture. Great Job!!!

  5. padreleigh

    Hey Zack…

    I have a question for you. I have noticed a lot of times you’ll catch a bp homer from someone and you won’t know who it is. How do you not know who it is or have a pretty good idea who it is? I know you have the rosters of the teams and you have above average knowledge. It always amazes me when you say you don’t know who hit it. Maybe I’m lucky or something, but I can always tell who’s hitting whether they have a number on or not. I can tell by the swing or their size, etc. Whether they’re lefty or righty. There are only around 13 possible guys usually that are hitting. Just a thought. Any answer?

    Leigh

  6. wlarusso

    Nice overall trip. Congrats on 4500 on the career. You make it look so easy. I was in DC yesterday and expecting a big day. However, they were giving out hats, it was a saturday, they were playing the orioles and not many balls were hit into the stands. It was almost impossible to get toss ups because of all of the little kids. Luckily, I got a ball from none other than Jeremy Guthrie. When do you think you’re next game is? Good luck on finishing the book.
    -Will
    http://snaggingautographsandbaseballs.mlblogs.com/

  7. grif30

    Big Reds fan here. Decent number of Cincy fans at the game? I know there are a lot of transplant Ohioans down there.

    Do you think you are going to make it to Great American ballpark this year?

  8. cougar914

    whats up zack, nice job at 4500, and nice pic during the anthem, lol!!!!! the bhl is real close right now, should be close and fun all year, ttyl
    nick p from pnc

  9. zackhample

    EVERYONE-
    Sorry for not answering comments for the last few weeks. I was just really busy with going to games and blogging about them…so now that I’m back, I’m gonna try to catch up.

    XHOLDOUROWNX-
    Glad you enjoyed the Atlanta entries.

    MATT-
    Thanks.

    GARRETT-
    What?!?!?! Wow…I just checked the Royals’ web site, and yup, the new opening time is posted there. That’s awful. I’m so sorry. Damn.

    JAMES-
    Thanks. You should really visit the Ted soon. It’s awesome (in case you can’t tell).

    TYLER-
    I’m not sure, but I think it’s from the protective tarp-thing that the grounds crew puts down in front of the home plate area during BP.

    M_KEMP_27-
    Cool. Much appreciated.

    LEIGH-
    I spend more time focusing on the stands/fans around me than on the guys who are stepping in and out of the cage. I’m hyperaware of my surroundings, and I’m constantly checking to make sure that my path is clear, and beyond that, I don’t know. Sometimes it doesn’t even occur to me to look back at the cage after I catch a ball to see who hit it because I’m already focusing on positioning myself for the next one. I’m also not super-skilled (like you) in figuring out who’s batting based on a guy’s stance or body type. I suppose that if I gave it more thought, I’d probably be able to, but I’m really just more concerned with the ball than anything else.

    WILL-
    That’s why I avoid weekend games, but hey, I’m glad you didn’t get shut out. My next game will probably be when the Padres come to Citi Field in a few weeks.

    GRIF30-
    Not a huge amount of Reds fans, but yeah, there were a few. I probably won’t make it to Cincy this year, mainly because a) Great American Ball Park is terrible for snagging and b) I have so much work remaining on my book.

    NICK-
    Heh, glad you liked it. I’m not going to any games for a few weeks now, so you should definitely catch me in the Ballhawk League standings.

    FATHER PUCK-
    Sorry, that’s the extent of it (although I did keep running into her throughout my three games at the stadium).

  10. bigglovebob

    That is cool that you ran into Matt again. I am hoping that he can make it to Target Field at some point in time. I think that Target Field is a true test of a ballhawk’s abilities so I am hoping that few board regulars will make the trek.
    That does suck about K.C. since I have 5 more games left there this year and was planning on doing some ballhawking. It is still a really nice stadium though. Gotta love the fountains.
    The Yankees come to town this week so I have my anti Freddy Sez signs and gear all ready to go.

    Big Glove Bob

  11. padreleigh

    Hey Zack…

    Thanks for the answer. I had thought of a couple of possibilities for you and that was one of them. You’re always on the go and I’m way more stationary in my snagging. I just like to know who’s up because I kind of know where they’re going to hit to, etc from past experience and try to position myself. If I do get a ball, I like to know who it’s from too. You’re obviously more quantity than I am, ha ha. I like the term hyperaware by the way. For the record, I’ll be buying a new glove today as the old one took a San Diego Trolley ride without me last week after I left it. I had like three days worth of balls in my bag and other junk and the glove wouldn’t fit in there like normal. I guess I had an Alzheimer’s moment and it cost me my glove of 25 years. I fell like I just got divorced and I’m getting a new wife. Nice analogy huh? I’m taking my daughter’s boyfriend snagging with me on Wednesday vs the Cardinals. It’s his first time. Should be interesting. Talk to you soon.

    Leigh

  12. marypolitan@gmail.com

    I LOVE the last picture! Turner Field is the only field I’ve been to except for my hometown Minute Maid Park. I never cared about going to see other ballparks or stadiums until I started reading your blog and now I’m dying to see so many of them! Oh, and your quotations comment “cracked” me up :-)

  13. zackhample

    BIG GLOVE BOB-
    I would *love* to see what those signs look like. As for Target Field, I would actually argue that the better a stadium is for ballhawking, the better a test it is in terms of skill.

    LEIGH-
    That sucks about your glove. Sorry to hear that. I’m very interested in the source of my baseballs, but…yeah, I just don’t always find out.

    MARY-
    Cool. Glad you “enjoyed” it.

    DANLCOX77-
    I took some. She just didn’t want to be on the blog.

  14. James Calderone

    The Evan kid that you are with looks exactly like the Braves bat boy named Evan that you have gotten to be good friends with in your YouTube videos. Is that him?

Leave a comment