The future of my blog . . .

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything on here, and I want to say that it’s YouTube’s fault. Sort of. I started my YouTube channel in 2008, but never took it seriously until this season. Now it’s consuming me, just like this blog did when I started THAT in 2005.

This season I’ve attended 111 Major League Baseball games and blogged about 33 of them. Many of those entries have covered games at which I was filmed for YouTube, and most of the images I posted were screen shots from the videos. See where I’m going with this? Back in 2005, the blog was my only outlet for chronicling my baseball adventures. Now it suddenly feels redundant, and I’m not nearly as motivated to work on it.

It’s also a numbers game. At this point, when I post a new entry, it gets a few hundred clicks on the first day. My videos, meanwhile, are consistently getting 20,000 to 50,000 views on the first day — and I don’t get paid for blogging.

Given how long it takes to produce a blog entry (sometimes more than five hours just to select/edit/label/upload all the images), it doesn’t make sense to keep blogging with the same intensity as before. I could spend this entire offseason catching up on the blog, but there are so many other things I’d rather do with my free time. I need to overhaul my horrendously ugly website. I want to learn how to edit video. I’ve been told that I should have a public page on Facebook and that I should get on Snapchat, so those are things that deserve my attention. I want to get back to exercising regularly and doing my weird music thing (maybe I’ll blog about THAT) and spend more time with my friends and family — not sit alone in my apartment and grab screen shots from a three-month-old video so that I can piece together a blog entry.

I do still plan to blog about some games, but chances are they won’t be games that I was filmed at. The point is, don’t give up on this blog because I’m not giving up on it. I just won’t be blogging as often, and my focus will shift a bit.

Let me leave you with two links for now. First, here’s a collection of hundreds of blog entries from all 52 of the MLB stadiums that I’ve visited. There’s gotta be stuff here that you’ve never seen, so while you’re waiting for me to post my next entry, check out some old ones. Second, here’s my YouTube channel. I’m guessing you’re already familiar with my videos, but now there’s no excuse. Watch them. They’re good. And I promise I’ll blog again soon(ish).

22 comments

  1. I Love Your Videos and blogs Zack

    I’m glad that you found a new passion. I love your blogs and videos so I am a bit dissapointed but I know the videos will continuously improve your videos. Keep up the great work!

  2. Matt

    Hi Zack. Everything you wrote makes a lot of sense. I think you should, however, continue blogging about special events or locations that happen during the season. For example, I think a blog entry about a behind the scenes tour or exclusive seating areas are still very effective. Is a post needed during a normal game when you are in the stands? No, probably not. What about when you visited the MLB offices? YES I want see a post about that!

  3. SuperMetsFan

    You do you Zack. Your videos are entertaining to watch and there’s a whole archive of blogs you have written that I still haven’t read. I’m happy either way.

  4. Zack Hample

    MATT-
    Thanks. For now I think I *would* blog about things like that. Basically, I want to document everything special, so if I’m not there with a videographer (and if I don’t selfie-film myself), I’d be tempted to write about it.

    SUPER METS FAN-
    Awesome. Glad to hear that. Thanks for the support.

    LIZ MERRY-
    You da best.

  5. Zack Hample

    I realize that Spring Training provides some great opportunities to snag lots of baseballs, but I don’t count those balls in my collection. I haven’t even been to Spring Training since 1995. If I ever go back, it’ll be for YouTube purposes, so who knows? You might see me there in the near future.

  6. Nathan

    Long time reader here, met you at GABP a few years ago. Keep up the good work in whatever outlet you choose, always love watching/reading.
    Nathan

  7. Justin

    Hey Zack! I just want to say THANKS for changing my whole baseball experience. Living in Taiwan, the stadiums don’t open the outfield to people with infield tickets, and vice versa. Reading your blogs and watching your videos helped me a lot! I got 10 balls in 7 games this year! I hope you get back to blogging soon (I like the style of your old posts!), and good luck on the future of your social media!

  8. Zack Hample

    NATHAN-
    Thanks very much! Hopefully I’ll be back in Cincinnati next year. I love it there.

    JUSTIN-
    You’re very welcome, and that’s strange about the stadiums in Taiwan. I had no idea about that. I would love to check those out someday, and if I do, I would certainly blog about the experience. More soon. I promise.

    AIDAN-
    Yes.

  9. JS Bragg

    Fully understandable. Make sure to share the public Facebook we can follow and your snapchat name here and on your website when you have them. Things like that get quickly lose on Twitter. Look forward to your continued adventures.

  10. Niko Goutakolis

    Mr.Hample,

    While it’s sad to see that your blog will go on a breif hiatus, we will have plenty of older articles to look back at.

    You were one of many people whose blogs have helped me grow my blog, MetsPlus, and even though we’ve never actually spoken directly, I thank you for that.

    All the best,
    Niko

  11. Zack Hample

    JS BRAGG-
    Good call. If and when that happens, I’ll make sure to post it in various places.

    NIKO-
    You’re very welcome! Glad to hear you’ve enjoyed success with your blog. And I *am* planning to post again soon.

  12. Ben

    Please tell me you plan to continue blogging about your vacations and international travels. I really enjoyed your photos and commentary on places I may never get to visit.

  13. Brian Lee

    If a chard does not say reprint on a 1952 baseball card and the sellers says its a reprint does this make it a fake or just lisred wrong

Leave a comment