Snagging Baseballs for Charity — 2010

As many of you already know, I raised over $10,000 last season for a charity called Pitch In For Baseball. The charity provides baseball equipment to needy kids all over the world — and I raised the money simply by snagging baseballs. Remember? I got people to pledge a little bit of Thumbnail image for pitch_in_for_baseball4.jpgmoney for each ball that I snagged, and because so many folks got involved, it really added up by the end of the season.

Well, I’m doing it again this year, and with your help, I’m hoping we can raise even more money. If you don’t want to pledge, don’t worry about it. I just want you to know what I’m doing. Maybe you can help by telling a few friends about it. If you’re thinking about pledging, but you don’t have much money, you can pledge one penny per ball. Even that little bit will add up to a few dollars and help make a difference. And if you want to pledge even more, go for it. (Last season, Heath Bell pledged 50 cents per ball. Go Padres!)
I have a lot more info HERE on my web site, but let me break it down with a few links:
1) Some FAQs about all of this.
2) A blog entry with pics I took last season at the charity’s warehouse.
3) A recent MLB.com article about the charity.
4) My fundraising page from last season.
5) And finally…
Thank you all for being a part of this.

4 comments

  1. chasicle

    Hopefully you go to plenty of games this year while writing / finishing up your book. Good luck this year, hopefully you break your season record for most balls.

  2. vegantemp@hotmail.com

    I’m rooting for ya, Zack! Hope you snag 1,000 balls this season. You’re awesome. Woo-hoo! Baseball!

  3. 5280grl

    Snag away, Zack! May the game days be plentiful and the balls rain down from the sky! Also, keep up the good work on the book-I’m eager to read it and I’m sure it will be just as fabulous (if not more so) than the last ones.

  4. zackhample

    CHASICLE-
    Thanks. Not sure if I’ll be going to THAT many games before the All-Star break, but we’ll see…

    VEGANTEMP-
    Okay, now you’re just getting carried away.

    METALLICAMANDA-
    Thanks for the pledge!

Leave a comment