4/14/14 at Camden Yards

Camden Yards is 194 miles from my home in New York City, but in this case, the distance meant nothing. I had three big reasons for skipping work and driving down for the day. First, I’d heard that the Orioles were using special baseballs to commemorate their 60th anniversary, and I *really* wanted to snag one. Second, the Tampa Bay Rays were going to be there, and I wanted to catch up with Heath Bell. And third, my girlfriend, Hayley, had a rare day off and was willing to tag along because she’d never been to Maryland. We made it to Baltimore more than four hours before the stadium was going to open, but I’ll spare you the details of how we spent it. Instead I’ll cut to the chase — here we are outside the gates:

1_zack_hayley_outside_gates

That photo was taken by my friend and fellow ballhawk Tim Anderson. In the following photo, Tim is wearing the white t-shirt, and you can see Hayley waving in the background:

2_ball7229_and_hayley_waving

You can also see my first baseball of the day, which, disappointingly, was not commemorative. It was a batting practice homer by J.J. Hardy, which landed in the seats, took a series of wild ricochets, narrowly eluded Tim, and eventually trickled to me.

Meanwhile this was Hayley’s view:

3_hayleys_view_from_deep_left_field

I had told her to sit all the way back there so that she wouldn’t get drilled by any baseballs. I had also asked her to try to get a few action shots of me.

This is not what I had in mind:

4_zack_derpy

I don’t know why I was making that horrified face (on the left) or prancing around like a complete tool (on the right), but hey, anyone can look stupid for an instant, right?

Thankfully there were moments when I looked a bit better, and Hayley captured those too. Although the following photo is blurry, it’s my favorite because it shows me jumping high for my second ball of the day — a J.J. Hardy homer that I caught on the fly. Check it out:

5_zack_catching_ball7230

The left field seats were crowded. Look how much competition there was just on my staircase:

6_zack_on_crowded_staircase

When the Rays started warming up, I was glad to see Heath Bell:

7_rays_beginning_to_warm_up

After a few minutes, I changed into my Rays gear and headed to the seats along the left field foul line:

8_zack_wearing_rays_gear_in_foul_territory

That’s where I got my third ball — a softly-thrown one-hop knuckler from Jake McGee that I trapped against the wall after lunging out of the stands.

Eventually Heath came over to say hello, and we chatted for a few minutes:

9_zack_talking_to_heath_bell

He noticed Hayley taking photos nearby and asked, “Is that your girl?”

I waved her down and introduced them. (It felt weird to say, “Hayley, this is Heath. Heath, this is Hayley.”) He asked how we met (heh), and we all chatted briefly.

Toward the end of BP, I got a toss-up from Grant Balfour in straight-away left field. Then, at the end of BP, I hurried to this spot behind the 3rd base dugout . . .

10_rays_after_finishing_bp

. . . and got my fifth ball of the day from Rays coach Tom Foley. He’s always been generous.

In the 1st inning, I led Hayley out to the Flag Court:

11_hayley_flag_court_during_game

My plan was to hang out there for all left-handed batters and to go for foul balls from righties behind the plate.

So much for that.

The stadium was too crowded for me to run back and forth through the cross-aisle, and on top of that, I wanted a commemorative ball more than I wanted a home run. All five of my pre-game balls had the regular MLB logo, so I pretty much *had* to snag one during the game. Therefore I went for foul balls all night. Whenever a righty was at bat, I stood in a tunnel on the 1st base side of home plate, and whenever a lefty was hitting, I hung out here:

12_view_for_most_lefties

The only exception was when the Rays were in the field with two outs. That’s when I tried to work my way down behind their dugout in the hopes of getting a 3rd-out ball.

Long story short: TOTAL FAILURE. There was a shocking lack of foul balls, and I kept having bad luck at the dugout.

As the Orioles were about to wrap up their 7-1 win, I knew that my only remaining chance was to get a ball from the home plate umpire after the final out. I looked up the box score to find out who it was, and when I saw the name, I was like, “Huh?”

Adam Hamari.

I’d never heard of him before, so obviously he was a rookie. Was he cool? Was he a jerk? I had no idea what to expect, but my strategy remained the same.

As he walked quickly off the field and out through the tunnel, he only gave away one ball. Somehow I was the lucky recipient and . . . just LOOK at this thing of beauty:

13_ball7234_orioles_60th_anniversary

THAT is a gorgeous logo.

Moments later, I noticed three guys walking across the field from the Rays’ bullpen:

14_heath_bell_walking_in_from_the_bullpen

It just so happened that Heath Bell was in the middle. I waved him over as he approached the dugout, and we chatted for a minute. Before we said goodbye, I showed him the commemorative ball, figuring he might be mildly interested, but as it turned out, he liked it so much that he said he was gonna try to get one for himself. I’m calling it now: after he retires, we’re going to attend a game and ballhawk together.

On the way out, I gave away two BP balls to random kids, and I got someone to take my photo with Hayley:

15_hayley_and_zack_after_the_game

Even though the paid attendance was only 15,799 at this game, the stadium felt MUCH more crowded than it used to be. Not too many years ago, I would expect to snag 10 to 15 balls per game here. On September 14, 2009, I snagged 22 balls, and the next day I got 25. Those days are loooooong gone, but it’s still an amazing ballpark, and I’m always glad to make the trip.

Here are the four balls that I kept . . .

16_the_four_balls_i_kept_04_14_14

. . . and here are some numbers for ya:

BALLHAWKING STATS:

• 6 baseballs at this game

• 58 baseballs in 7 games this season = 8.29 balls per game.

• 973 consecutive games with at least one ball

• 63 different commemorative balls; click here to see my entire collection

• 7,234 total balls

CHARITY STATS:

(I’m raising money again this season for Pitch In For Baseball, a non-profit charity that provides baseball equipment to underprivileged kids all over the world. Click here to learn about my fundraiser, and if you donate money, you’ll be eligible to win one of these prizes.)

• 16 donors for my fundraiser

• $1.37 pledged per ball (if you add up all the pledges)

• $8.22 raised at this game

• $79.46 raised this season

• $38,743.46 raised since I started my fundraiser in 2009

SPECIAL BONUS SECTION — some words from Hayley herself:
Baltimore’s a cute town. I’ve been to four different stadiums now, so, in my highly expert opinion, I thought Camden Yards was pretty nice. It was cool being able to walk around the whole place easily via the cross-aisle without having my view obstructed, or feeling like an usher was going to demand my ticket at any second. I ended up just sitting in my seat and letting Zack do his thing for the final third of the game, but it was a good time nonetheless. Also, the crowds were bigger than I expected — who are all these people staying out at a baseball game until 10pm on a Monday night?

20 comments

  1. Larry

    Well it’s good to get an idea of when the Orioles are using those commemoratives, and lucky for me I’m going to Camden yards this summer, so I’ll probably be able to snag one. Now you just need to snag a Wrigley Field ball!

  2. Mark McConville

    Thats a sweet ball, gonna have to try and get to Baltimore a few times. I was at Yankee Stadium last tuesday and missed out on a Wrigley commemorative from the bullpen which Greg got. Tried asking after the game for one and the bullpen coach looked in the bag and tried throwing it but it hit the netting and fell back down, a reliever picked it up and threw it back to him and he put it back in the ball bag. He then walked over to a catchers bag and pulled out two balls, i got one and my friend the other but both were regular. Kinda weird that he threw the one that I’m pretty sure was commemorative and then put it back in the bag. Looks like I’m going to Philly in June when they’re there.

  3. Zack Hample

    DEMETRIUS-
    Second year? Oh. Well, I guess he did a good job last season if he didn’t make any type of impression on me.

    LARRY-
    Yeah, I know. The weather completely screwed me out of trying to get one when they were at Yankee Stadium recently.

    MARK MCCONVILLE-
    Ouch. That’s rough. Are you planning to attend the whole Cubs/Phillies series in June? I’m probably just gonna go to that Friday game.

    CHRIS & LIZ MERRY-
    Umm, what? :-)

    IT’S ME-
    Probably, but I refuse to consider myself “old” until I’m older than every active major league baseball player.

  4. Sam

    Hey Zack, my name is Sam Van Hollebeke and Max Van Hollebeke is my cousin. His younger siblings Luke, Hannah, and I were wondering if you are making the trip to the Great Northwest this season. If so when?
    -Your fan

  5. Zack Hample

    SAM-
    What’s up! I would love to hit up Safeco again this season, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. After having visited all 30 stadiums last year and going to Australia last month, I need to take things down a couple of notches and relax closer to home.

    MARK MCCONVILLE-
    Go on Sunday. :-)

  6. PJ

    Hey Zack,

    My plans got changed around so I now may be going to Friday’s Mets/Marlins game. Any chance you’ll be there?

    Thanks!

  7. Big Glove Bob

    I got two words for your boy, Head Hunting Heath. “Instant Karma” First a couple of weeks ago he drills Omar Infante right in the face and then got taken to the woodshed by the light hitting Alcides Escobar when he hit a bases clearing double off the left field fence. Today, I am watching the Twins game and the head hunter missed his mark just a tad and hit Josmil Pinto in the shoulder. This time it was light hitting Aaron Hicks and his 182 average taking Heath out back with a 3 run dinger en route to HHH giving up 5 earned in 1.2 innings. Although from you blog he seems like a great guy when he isn’t throwing high cheese at your noggin. Do you have any plans on attending the ASG this year?
    Big Glove Bob

  8. fsportswriter

    I got a ball from Adam Hamari in Spring Training. I thought the same thing when I saw his name on the box score. He seemed like a cool guy though. He chatted with me because a friend of Bruce Drekman’s gave me an old shirt of his that I wore to that spring training game. Hopefully the O’s will bring a few of those balls on the road. I’ll see them in KC on May 16. I know Colorado didn’t bring any 20 yr. ones on the road last year when I saw them in STL. I couldn’t make it out to Denver last year.

  9. Zack Hample

    BIG GLOVE BOB-
    Whoa . . . well, I haven’t seen any of the highlights (or lowlights, as the case may be), but based on what you’ve said, it doesn’t sound good. Heath is an amazing guy, but I guess anyone can have a bad day and/or let his emotions get the best of him? As for the All-Star Game . . . meh. No plans yet.

    FSPORTSWRITER-
    Very cool about the umps. I hope you get one of those O’s balls.

  10. Luke Van Hollebeke

    How many balls do umpires usually have at the end of each game? Every ump at Safeco has only been giving one away just like Adam.

  11. Zack Hample

    They usually have at least a few. Umps don’t like to get down to their final ball at any point in the game, so there’s a good chance that the umps at Safeco are just being stingy.

  12. Nick Gantz

    Hey Zack! How are things going? I just wanted to point out a math mistake in your stats. You put “$18.22 raised at this game” when it should be $8.22.1.37×6= 8.22. Thats all. Also, are you planning on heading out to the great state of Missouri to catch a Cardinals game this season? If so, my uncle has season tickets this year (12 rows behind the Cardinals dugout. Ive gotten 2 foul balls from sitting there btw.), and maybe we can meet up at a game. Also, I can hook you up with a great seat for free if you want. Cheers!

    -Nick Gantz

  13. Zack Hample

    D’oh! Thanks for catching that. I just fixed it. As for Busch Stadium, I have no idea, but probably not. I don’t plan to travel much this year, which is a shame because both New York stadiums really suck. I do appreciate the offer, though.

Leave a comment