Time to donate — 2015

Now that the 2015 World Series is over, it’s time to send your donations to Pitch In For Baseball. I ended up snagging eight game home run balls this season, and I’ve already done the math for you. Click here and scroll down to the bottom of the page to see how much you owe — and get ready to win some prizes. As I mentioned in this blog entry before the season, I’m going to be giving away a bunch of baseball-related collectibles:
willie_mays_ball
1)
 a baseball signed by Willie Mays (pictured on the right)
2) three baseball cards signed by Kent Hrbek, Rick Cerone, and Dave Stieb
3)Mickey Mantle ball with an image of his 1952 Topps rookie card
4) a Bernie Williams ball with his image and the Yankees logo
5)Curtis Granderson bobblehead
6) signed copies of The San Francisco Splash and The Wrigley Riddle
7) a signed copy of Man Versus Ball
8) two Mets prints
9) three Mets t-shirts
10) a Mark McGwire rookie card

Make sure that Pitch In For Baseball receives your money before December 7th — a little more than a month from today. That’s when I’m going to conduct the drawing, and remember that the more you donate, the more chances you’ll have to win something. (For every dollar that you donate per home run ball that I snagged this season, your name will be thrown into the hat, so in other words, if you donate $8.00 to the charity, your name will be in there once. If you donate $40.00 — the equivalent of five dollars per homer — your name will be there five times, so you’ll be five times more likely to be chosen. The first person whose name is drawn will have the first choice of which prize to receive. That person will then be ineligible to win anything else, so there will be ten different winners. The second person whose name is chosen will get to choose one of the remaining nine prizes, and so on.)

There are two ways to pay:

pifb_logo_11_06_13OPTION ONE:

Mail a check, payable to Pitch In For Baseball, to the following address:

Pitch In For Baseball
c/o Zack Hample
1541 Gehman Road
Harleysville, PA 19438

FYI: The reason for writing “c/o Zack Hample” is to inform the folks at Pitch In For Baseball that you’re one of my donors. This will help them keep track of the all the money I’m raising for them.

OPTION TWO:

Pay with your credit card by following these steps:

1) Visiting my fundraising page.
2) Scroll to the bottom.
3) Look for the red banner that says “Make a contribution.”
4) Click the “Other” option at the bottom of the box.
5) Type in the amount of your donation.
6) Click the “Continue” button down below and following the remaining steps.

Thanks so much! I love being able to use my collection to raise money (and awareness) for this charity, and obviously I couldn’t do it without your help.

18 comments

  1. Tracy Collins

    Did u know Alan Schuster got Big Papis 500 th. Hr. ? Just saw it on mygame balls. Mystery fan is your complete opposite. He Got a few souvenirs for the ball….. moneyball

  2. Zack Hample

    TRACY COLLINS-
    Yeah, I knew about it from the start, but was sworn to secrecy. Alan wanted to conceal his identity and reveal things slowly and at his own pace, so I kept my mouth shut and respected that. Crazy that he got the ball, huh?

  3. Chris

    What do you think is more rare: A game used All Star ball, or a World Series ball? Also, if they were the same price, which one would you get?

  4. Nick Haddock

    Hey Zack. It’s Nick from Nats Park, just to have fun so you can remember I was at your 7000 ball game. Congratulations on getting ARods 3000 hit ball. And as always, glad to see your charity donation time of year. I know you have a very tough time with the security at Nats Park. & I see you had a tough time at Kauffman Stadium. Last year on my birthday, we went to the Nats Reds game, I used my ball retrieving device, to get a ball a kid dropped in the gap, (he kinda missed it, & it hit his face) I got the ball for him, & this 6’5 260 pound security guy, tells me not to use it again, and he will take me & my glove out of the stadium. My mom, dad, & the kid’s dad I gave the ball too, went and talked to him. 2 weeks later, went to another game, never seen him since. (Yeah) but this year, I had another run in, where Yoenis Cespedes hit a ball onto the turf in center, (It was killed) and the ball hit the side of the turf, rolled perfectly against the glass, & put my hand out and got it. Out of nowhere a security guy comes, and says “give it up!!!!!!” I asked him, “what u mean” he replies in a screaming voice, “give it up, right now”!!!!! I asked what did I do. He then goes into my glove, rips out the ball, & throws it back on the field. (He actually almost hit Degrom), I was just shocked, & before he threw it on the field, I had a 5 second chance to look at the ball. It was a perfect 10th anniversary Nats ball. So, do you have any suggestions on what I could do, Thanks.

  5. Zack Hample

    NICK-
    Thanks very much! I’m sorry to hear about your experience at Nats Park, but I’m not surprised. There are truly a bunch of goons running that place, and I don’t think there’s anything you can do. I was once bashed in the face BY A GUARD while reaching for a ball under a table (because he thought it’d be fun to reach for it to and try to steal it from me). I had a visible bruise on my nose, and when I complained to one of the head supervisors, he simply denied that it happened. And of course there was another incident where I was falsely accused of selling baseballs (I mean, what?!) and ejected from the stadium.

    WATCH FOR GATORS-
    Bah. Don’t care. Wake me up with it’s Opening Day.

  6. jvfuentes

    Rules clarification, please. So if a pitcher commits an error and a run scores it is still not considered an ER, correct?

  7. Nick Haddock

    Thanks Zack. Yeah, Nats Park always talks about if someone effects your enjoyment of the game please report it to the nearest usher, (well they never help). So, I will just keep fighting thru it, and hopefully I won’t be ejected for giving a kid a ball 1 day. I really only keep the balls I catch, if I get a ball that hit the ground & is scuffed, I give it to some kid, it makes me happy (and makes me look nice :). Thanks for the note back, Happy Thanksgiving to you as well.

  8. Zack Hample

    JVFUENTES-
    Correct.

    NICK HADDOCK-
    Ha, yeah, what if the usher himself is affecting your enjoyment? Sounds like you have a great attitude — keep going strong!

  9. Dinner Portion

    Z-Man, any plans to blog about your World Series games? Also, good luck on your dating life. All I will say(unless asked for more!) is that your past choices in women/girls(sorry) has been…shall we say?…eclectic.

    Big Glove Bob

  10. Zack Hample

    BIG GLOVE BOB-
    Maybe someday. I’m not thinking about baseball these days, except when I go out on dates and people ask, “What do you do?” and then I kind of have to mention it (and the more I say, the weirder they think I am). Eclectic. Yeah.

Leave a Reply

