Fun with French

I just found something funny that I simply have to share — an article about me that was written last week in French. Here’s a screen shot of the first part of it . . .

. . . and here’s the link in case you want to read the piece in its entirety.

Now, are you ready for the funny translation? Here’s a side-by-side screen shot for you — French on the left, English on the right — courtesy of Google Translate.

Wow. That’s good stuff. Supposedly there’s going to be an article written about me later this month in Japanese. I can’t wait to see what Google Translate is gonna say about that one . . .

13 comments

  1. connor

    Well that would be the first time in a long time I’ve been able to use my french to read something fun (i.e. not Voltaire or something else completely boring at school). I have to say though, it seems like the most researched/fair article about you that’s come out about you lately! (I’m looking at you MSN!)

  2. Nick

    I love google translate… in the morning I will have to show that article to my mom….she majored in french.

  3. Skim

    I love google translate. For laughs sometimes, I put in a whole spanish paragraph or so and have it translate it and I laugh so hard at some of the errors it makes.

  4. Zack Hample

    CONNOR-
    Always fun when the language skills have some practical, real-world use.

    NICK-
    I hope she liked it.

    SARAH-
    Google Translate means well.

    AVI M-
    I wasn’t misquoted AT ALL on that one. :-)

    SKIM-
    For even more laughs, translate it back and forth a few times.

    PAAOOOL123-
    Yeah, thanks.

    MALCOLM-
    Too bad they’re still using last year’s charity numbers.

    JACOB RESNICK-
    Yes I am!

    KSLO69-
    I think there was a typo in her comment, which I edited. Does it make more sense now?

    LIZ MERRY-
    The update is that I didn’t go to Yankee Stadium on Tuesday because I thought it was going to rain. (It didn’t.) I didn’t go on Wednesday because it *was* raining, and then of course Matt Wieters hit a home run during the game right to my spot. Thursday? I don’t think there was a game. Yesterday I skipped the Mets game because a) the weather was iffy, b) I wasn’t feeling 100%, and c) one of my best friends invited me out for dinner to celebrate his birthday with other people that I like very much. Today I’m working. Tomorrow is a day game, which I absolutely won’t attend. Monday there’s no game, so I’m looking at Tuesday right now. EIGHT DAYS between games is too much. I’m not happy about it. But I’ll get back in the groove soon.

  5. Double T

    Nicholas Badders- What day are you coming to the Omaha stormchasers game

  6. Nicholas Badders

    Double T- I don’t know yet. I might be in Omaha at the end of this month, but they are out of town when I might be there… I guess I will have to wait and see…

Leave a Reply

