Batting gloves, exhaustion

On August 3rd at Shea Stadium, I got Wes Helms’ batting gloves after the game. Here they are with all the other gloves (and the one wristband) that I’ve collected over the years:

Battinggloves2

I forced myself up at 8:22am today, once again with just five and a half hours of sleep. I’m so tired that my eyes are practically throbbing, but it’s all part of the plan. I’d rather be tired today in New York City than tomorrow in Cincinnati. Of course, I actually have to fall asleep early tonight for this plan to work, but I think I can do it. I’m only working ’til 9pm.

24 hours from now, my flight will be about to touch down…

3 comments

  1. dodgerssteven91@yahoo.com

    Dave Hansen threw some batting gloves when he was a Dodger, but the usher grabbed them and gave it to some kid that had a facial expression of “I don’t want to be at the Dodger game”. Then, I yelled at the usher, and then he told me to get lost. So, ever since that encounter, no batting gloves in my collection. But, I heard that Mo Vaughn gave out a batting glove to a friend of mine, right after a Angels/Dodgers game at the parking lot!

  2. dantv64dan@aol.com

    I once got a batting glove, but alas, I have no idea where it is.

    I’ve gotten 2 bats also. And I once almost got a hat, but it turned out that the only reason it was thrown up onto the dugout (where I promptly snatched it) was because of some type of prank. So I had to give it back.

  3. Zack

    Yeah, I once had a bat taken away from me at Yankee Stadium. It’s the angriest I’ve ever been at a game. I’m not even gonna get into it here because I’ll just end up working myself into a frenzy and I really need to relax and get to bed soon because my flight takes off in less than 13 hours…

Leave a Reply

