Sleep

NeedsleepIn eight days, I’m going to Cincinnati.
Two days later, I’ll be in Houston.
Four days. Four games. Two new ballparks for me.
I’m psyched (and then some).

But I’m seriously worried about my sleep situation.

The problem is that my flight leaves at 9:45am.
That means I’ll have to be at LaGuardia around 8:00am…
which means I’ll have to leave my place by 7:30am…
which means I’ll have to wake up by 7:00am. (I plan to pack the day before.)

What’s wrong with waking up at seven in the morning?
Nothing…unless your average bedtime is seven in the morning.
That’s my situation.
Somehow, I have to reverse my sleep pattern within a week–or shift it enough that I’ll actually be tired enough to get into bed by 3am. I can get through a day on four hours of sleep. That’s the best thing I learned in college.

A couple of friends have suggested that I take Ambien.

Thanks, but no thanks.

I’ve never taken a sleeping pill, and I’m not about to start. I don’t know how my body will respond, and I don’t want to take any chances right before I head off for four big days. I don’t do the coffee thing either–I’d rather be naturally tired than artificially awake–so I’m just going to force myself up an hour earlier every day for the next few days and hope that my bedtimes follow. Unfortunately, I can’t shift my sleep pattern more than a few hours because I still have to work until at least 1:00am each the last three nights before I leave.

5 comments

  1. thegroceryman1@yahoo.com

    OR just do what I do;

    dont sleep.

    Did it again today and hey came away with Kerry Wood and Ron Santo autographs along with 20 others, so I’d say its been working out fine. Screw it.

  2. loveg30@aol.com

    You guys are seriously underestimating the value of sleep. Eventually all this lack of sleep will catch up to you and I will come along and tell you I told you so. LOL!!! Anyway, Zack, please consider getting to the airport 2 hours before your flight. Airport security is totally unpredictable, so make sure you give yourself enough time. If anything, you might consider sleeping on the plane, but something tells me you won’t. LOL!!!
    George

  3. Zack

    ****, groceryman! Wood and Santo? I seriously need to go hang out with you one of these days. But I can’t pull an all-nighter. I’ve never even stayed awake for 24 straight hours. I’m a wuss. I know.

    George, I’m not undervaluing sleep. In fact, I value it so much that I’m planning how to get as much of it as possible EIGHT days in advance! Quite frankly, I don’t know what you’re talking about.

  4. evilsnare1@yahoo.com

    Hey, haha your just like me. My bedtime is 6 AM, and I got work from 5 PM to 12 AM. If I were you i’d try the pills. They really do work and your sleep is amazing. You should try it now and see how your body reacts. Good luck on the trip!

  5. Zack

    Huh. Not a bad idea. I’m going to look into it. The only bad thing about staying up until 6am is that when the birds start chirping, I feel like a loser.

Leave a Reply

