My baseball job

I mention my job a lot (because I have to plan my ball-collecting around it), but I never really talk about it. In the last few days, a few people have asked me what I do, so here’s the answer: I’m a baseball writer. I work for MLBAM, which stands for Major League Baseball Advanced Media. I write recaps of minor league baseball games for the minor league web site (plus the occasional news/feature story and a few other things here and there). My recaps are short, usually six to eight paragraphs, because I write several per night. The writing is not supposed to be fancy; the goal is to mention the key players and key moments, the stadium, the day of the week, the teams’ won-lost records, important stats, winning and losing streaks, etc. If I spend more than 20 or 30 minutes per game, I could get fired. Okay, that’s not true, but that really is how quickly we try to work. Here are the recaps I wrote last night:
Columbus Clippers vs. Durham Bulls
Charlotte Knights vs. Pawtucket Red Sox
MilbOttawa Lynx vs. Buffalo Bisons
Reading Phillies vs. Erie SeaWolves
Albuquerque Isotopes vs. Omaha Royals
Mobile BayBears vs. Mississippi Braves
Huntsville Stars vs. West Tenn Diamond Jaxx
New Orleans Zephyrs vs. Round Rock Express

Someday, we’ll do recaps for Single-A and short-season and rookie ball, but for now, it’s pretty much just Double-A and Triple-A games. It’s a great job, though stressful at times, but I love getting paid to follow baseball and write about it.

If you want to look for future (or even past) recaps, here’s what to do:
1. Go to minorleaguebaseball.com
2. Click “Scoreboard”
3. Pick a league (International, Pacific, Eastern, Southern, or Texas)
4. Select a date
5. Click “wrap” underneath any of the games, and you might just be looking at my work.

4 comments

  1. calvinct@futureone.com

    Appreciated your update of your activities. When are you coming out to watch theD-backs? Aunt A.

  2. Zack

    Aunt A! Good to see you on here. I had no idea that you were keeping up with my baseball activities. The D’Backs, eh? Thanks for the invitation, but before I fly out to ‘zona, I think I’ll probably hit up all the ballparks I haven’t been to yet. Of course, “all” means four, and I should be going to one of them (RFK in Washington, D.C.) tomorrow and two more in August. So maybe I’ll come out and see you before you know it.

  3. hamplej@aol.com

    Hey bro! Visit me too. L.A. must have a baseball team.

    I’m reading a John Irving novel, A PRAYER FOR OWEN MEANY, in which someone gets killed by a baseball. Does that ever happen in real life?

  4. Zack

    BRO!!!

    Sorry about the delayed reply. Your comment somehow slipped through the cracks. There is, in fact, a baseball team in Los Angeles…actually two, sort of, now that the Anaheim Angels have officially begun calling themselves “the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim.”

    In 1920, long before batters wore helmets, a guy named Ray Chapman was hit in the head by a pitch and died the next day.

    Or were you talking about a fan?

Leave a Reply

